Not too early…

Kj: Another day closer to the big hike to the into the Grand Canyon, where the Colorado River has been carving it for around 20 million years. Wow, take a second and think about that…20 million years! Truly amazing! I have a positive mindset approaching this hike and motivated to be in good shape to enjoy it.

Unfortunately with all the rain we have had lately I have not been able to get out and hike. I have primarily been in doors, at my gym. I have been concentrating on full bodywork outs with an emphasis on legs. This means plenty of squats, deadlifts and box step ups. My Goal is to transition 6-months out to more cardio. Last time, I was not prepared for the steep downhill steps on the trail. So, I am doing the big box step-ups and down. Today, I through a 25-pound pack on my back while doing this exercise. (Talkabout kicking my butt!). 

Exercise and being in shape is all good, but if you don’t  have the right pair of hiking boots/shoes, you will not make it. Remember everyone is different when it comes to footwear so make sure you are researching, trying on, and getting out hiking in your foot gear. It took me three pairs of hiking boots to realize that I was better off in a mid-hiking shoe. Then another pair to find the ones that fit my feet really well. I personally went with North Face as I like their hiking shoe, and it fits me best. Again do your research but most of all make sure you break them in well and not just on flat walking surfaces. It’a completely different ball game especially when you are climbing out of the canyon. Do yourself a favor and don’t  be afraid to spend the extra buck to get a better quality-hiking shoe. You will be thanking yourself about 4 hours into the hike of a lifetime and your feet don’t hurt

Pj: The Emrald Mile by Kevin Fedarko is a must read or audiobook prior to arriving on the Rim. An amazing story of the fastest boat ride through the Grand Canyon woven through with geology, hydrology, and history! Crossing the Colorado River approaching Phanton Ranch, you may get a glimpse of the inspiring dory!

Walking, biking, squats, lunges, jump-squats, and box steps have been go-tos. For my feet, I have gone through several shoes options. For multi-day hikes Salomon full-hiking boots provide a firm sole and ankle stability. For a two day hike with a relatively light pack, I prefer Keen mids which are light, firm, stable, and have a wide shoe box. Start well in advance and find what works for you, so your trip is focused on the beauty not the pain! Never enough, do more, be more!

Leave a comment